Barcode

Barcodes are machine-readable information that is usually represented as a 2-color (mainly black and white) graphic.

A distinction is made between so-called 1D barocdes, stacked barcodes and 2D barcodes.

1D barcodes consist of bars and gaps of different width and in different arrangement, which encode into certain information. Depending on the symbology, a different set of characters can be encoded. For example, with the symbology 2 out of 5 Interleaved, only pairs of digits can be encoded, while with Code 39, uppercase letters and some special characters can also be encoded. 1D barcodes encode the same information over the entire height. Their capacity reaches up to about 40 characters per barcode.

Stacked barcodes are barcodes consisting of several horizontally arranged elements, each element corresponding in structure to a 1D barcode. An example of a stacked barcode is the PDF417 barcode. Since this type of barcode, unlike 1D barcodes, does not encode the same information over the entire height, but different information per segment, its capacity is much higher than that of 1D barcodes and is several hundred characters.

2D barcodes are barcodes that encode the information 2-diminsional and have a high capacity of up to 3000 characters – depending on symbology and encoding type. The smallest elements of these barcodes correspond to bits from electronic data processing. The most popular 2D barcode at present is the QR code, which has found its way into almost all business sectors: Banking, insurance, travel, manufacturing, industry, etc. Other well known 2D barcode symbologies are Datamatrix and Aztec.

More information about the different barcode symbologies can be found in our Barcode Lexicon.

Here should come the link to the Barcode Lexicon, which is now: https://www.suchymips.de/de/barcode-lexikon.htm

Barcode

Barcodes sind maschinenlesbare Informationen, die in der Regel als eine 2-farbige (vorwiegend schwarz/weiß) Grafik dargestellt werden.

Man unterscheidet zwischen sog. 1D Barocdes, gestapelte Barcodes und 2D Barcodes.

1D-Barcodes bestehen aus Strichen und Lücken verschiedener Breite und in verschiedener Anordnung, die in bestimmte Informationen kodieren. Je nach Symbologie kann ein verschiedener Zeichenvorrat kodiert werden. Z.B. können mit der Symbologie 2 aus 5 Interleaved ausschließlich Ziffernpaare kodiert werden, mit dem Code 39 dagegen auch Großbuchstaben und einige Sonderzeichen. 1D Barcodes kodieren die gleiche Information über die gesamte Höhe. Ihre Kapazität reicht bis ca. 40 Zeichen pro Barcode.

Gestapelte Barcodes sind Barcodes, die aus mehreren horizontal angeordneten Elementen bestehen, wobei jedes Element im Aufbau einem 1D Barcode entspricht. Ein Beispiel für einen gestapelten Barcode ist der Barcode PDF417. Da diese Art von Barcodes anders als 1D Barcodes nicht die gleiche Information über die gesamte Höhe kodieren, sondern verschiedene Informationen pro Segment, ist Ihre Kapazität um einiges höher als der von 1D Barcodes und beträgt mehrere Hundert Zeichen.

2D Barcodes sind Barcodes die die Informationen 2-diminsional kodieren und eine hohe Kapazität von bis zu 3000 Zeichen – je nach Symbologie und Kodierungsart – aufweisen. Die kleinsten Elemente dieser Barcodes entsprechen Bits aus der elektronischen Datenverarbeitung. Der z.Zt. wohl bekannteste 2D Barcode ist der QRCode der Einzug in fast alle Business Bereiche gefunden hat: Banken, Versicherung, Reisebranche, verarbeitendes Gewerbe, Industrie usw. Andere Bekannte 2D Barcode Symbologien sind Datamatrix und Aztec.

Mehr Informationen über die einzelnen Barcode Symbologien finden Sie in unserem Barcode Lexikon

Hier sollte der Link zum Barcode Lexikon kommen, der jetzt so lautet: https://www.suchymips.de/de/barcode-lexikon.htm