BENS Printserver

Printserver BENS

BENS Printserver

Now with
64 GB SSD
8 GB RAM
1.9 GHz
Quadcore

BENS Login window with language selection BENS Dashboard BENS HOME BENS Settings
BENS Settings Modul - NTP Server Settings BENS Printers BENS Printers/Connections Printjobs
Printjobs Infos, Log und Download Links BENS Statusbar BENS Repository BENS Net-Disks jquery lightbox image sizeby VisualLightBox.com v5.7

The Technology

Appliance or Virtual Server Image

BENS represents a technology providing an operating system-independent print server in form of a fanless appliance with an SSD memory (no movable parts). Alternately, BENS is delivered as a virtual server image for VMWare, XEN or Microsoft Hyper-V. Up to 50 printers can be run with one appliance, depending on the size and complexity of the data to be printed (for virtual environments, this restriction does not apply).

BENS offers a high-performance spool system with many different functions such as reprint, archiving and status tracking.

Communication and Filtering

The printer server supports all established print protocols: Socket, SMB, LPR and IPP and, at an extra-charge, IPDS. The status request of the printers is carried out via SNMP. The adjustments to desired processes is made by means of filters and their configuration. Filters are programmes that can be uploaded on a BENS server in order to modify the relevant incoming print data according to the user's requirements before they are transferred to the actual target device. As an example of print data filtering one could state the adding of macros, font types or barcodes. However, more complex tasks such as "Carbon Copy" or the conversion of print data from one printer language into another (e.g. prescribe PCL) are also possible.

A crucial feature of the BENS spool system is its flexibility: new filters can be readily uploaded and run with the server’s board features without necessitating a software modification. For each printer, several different filters can be defined.

Administration

The BENS server is delivered with a WEB-based administration tool. The intuitively operable user interface serves the administrator as a means for the network configuration, the printer definition, the administration of licenses, filters, etc. and the configuration of print processes.

System Stability

In order to grant system stability, we optionally supply each device (the "Master") together with a second device ("Slave"), serving as a mirroring server for the "Master". The mirroring is carried out automatically in the background without interrupting the operating process. Should the "Master" suffer a failure, the "Slave" automatically takes over the "Master's" license rights, thereby itself becoming the "Master". Following repairs, the original "Master" then becomes the "Slave". All licenses for filters are charged only once.

1 BENS for many Printers

1 BENS for many Printers!

BENS: Various Connectivities

Print path 1: from the application via BENS directly to the printer.

Anwendung - BENS - Drucker

Print path 2: from the application via a different print server to BENS and on to the printer.

Anwendung - Drucker Server - BENS - Drucker

Print path 3: from the application via BENS to a different print server and on to the printer.

Anwendung - BENS - Drucker Server - Drucker

Standard Filters

Barcode Filter

The BENS Barcode Filter is PCL-compatible and can be immediately used by, for example, the SAP® users. No adaptations or changes have to be carried out on the SAP® system. BENS can be used in lieu of hardware modules (e.g. barcode DIMMs), which have to be installed on the printers. In case of a printer failure, the administrator can without any problems transfer the license for the barcode filter to another printer.

more about PCL Barcode Filter »

Unicode Filter

The Unicode filter enables the printing of Unicode data on printers that are either not Unicode-able or possess no adequate font type. The BENS Unicode filter is supplied together with the Monotype® font Andale which commands more than 60.000 Unicode fonts. SAP® users can use this filter in order to, for example, print out documents in foreign languages (such as Chinese, Japanese, Thai, etc.).

more about Unicode Filter »

Prescribe PCL Filter

The Prescribe PCL Filter converts Prescribe print data into PCL print data. This filter is very performant and converts the Prescribe print data into PCL print data without any time lags noticeable to the user. The barcode adaptation is already integrated into the filter.

more about Prescribe PCL Filter »

Macro Filter

PCL Macros are print modules that can repeatedly be used in printing. They can be fixed parts of a print image, such as, for example, logos or footers but they can also be entire layouts, such as forms, letter templates or GTCs.

more about Macro Filter »

Carbon Copy Filter

With the Carbon Copy Filter carbon copies are realised, meaning that each page of a print document is immediately copied a multitude of times. The number of copies is adjustable. If, for example, the user sends a document with 4 pages and if 3 is set to be the number of copies, then the printer prints the pages as follows:
1,1,1,2,2,2,3,3,3,4,4,4
Or, according to the setting
1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4
This filter is especially useful for environments, where matrix printers will be replaced by laser printers. For single pages or copies paper types or tray feeding can be defined. Also, finishing options such as, for example, stapling can be controlled.

more about Carbon Copy Filter »

OCR-A / OCR-B Filter

This filter allows printing of standardised, optically readable fonts OCR-A und OCR-B.

more about OCR-Filter »

DataCompress Filter

The BENS DataCompress Filter compresses printer files for a cost-effective transfer via WAN-lines, for example from Europe to China.

more about DataCompress Filter »

Font Filter

This filter uses BENS as a common printer memory. The fonts for all printers can be saved and used.

more about Font Filter »

CleverPrint Filter

CleverPrint filter supports economical and ecological printing by forcing duplex, black-and-white and ECO printing, even when users have made deviating settings on the printer driver.

more about CleverPrint Filter »

SplitSpool Filter

Spool files are separated into several different print jobs, so that these can be individually processed further (e.g. stapled or enveloped).

more about SplitSpool Filter »

MergeJobs Filter

The BENS MergeJobs filter merges several different print jobs into one single print job. This facilitates the handling of many different small jobs and noticeably increases the printer’s performance that does not have to reset after each job.

more about MergeJobs Filter »

PrintToBox Filter

The BENS PrintToBox Filter supports the printing into electronic printer boxes form systems that have no such option (e.g. SAP®).

more about PrintToBox Filter »

Mobile Printing

From OS Version 2.0.37 onwards, BENS – apart from the typical print protocols such as Socket and LPR - also offers a print protocols compatible with IOS® devices (iPad®, Iphone®).

more about mobile Printing »

Follow me Function

The BENS Follow me Function saves a user’s print jobs until they are called and printed via a web browser with authentication.

more about follow me Function »

IPDS/AFPDS Printing

Optionally, BENS OS4 supports IPDS and AFPDS printing. There is a demo version for black&white printing with max. 55 ppm on each BENS Server.

more about IPDS/AFPDS Printing »

Further Functions

Suchy MIPS is always developing new filers that are of common interest. Upon request, customer-specific filters are also developed.
Example of a customer-specific filter: coloured highlights are converted into black and white, bold and with and enlarged font size.

Fonts and Macros

Resource Repository

PCL Fonts and Macros can be uploaded onto the resource repository using BENS’ existing board means. Once uploaded, a macro can be printed out on any optional printers. Using this procedure, the user saves money on expenses for additional, non-volatile memory space for these macros. The user will also save on administration, as in case of macro conversions, one macro has to be converted at one position, only.

• Teilen

Printserver BENS - Hardware

Printserver BENS

BENS Printserver

Jetzt mit
64 GB SSD
8 GB RAM
1.9 GHz
Quadcore

BENS Login Fenster mit Sprachauswahl BENS Dashboard (nicht auf G3-Plattform verfügbar) BENS HOME mit moderner Oberfläche BENS Settings Modul mit geordneten Reitern, die verschiedene Einstellungen gruppieren
BENS Settings Modul - NTP Server Einstellungen BENS Druckerübersicht BENS Druckerdefinition mit geordneten Reitern für verschiedene Einstellungen Übersicht der Druckaufträge mit verschiedenen Reitern für die Ansicht der Druckjobs je nach Status
Detail-Ansicht eines Druckjobs mit Infos, Log und Download Links für alle erzeugten Dateien Die BENS Statusleiste Das BENS Repository BENS Net-Disks jquery lightbox image sizeby VisualLightBox.com v5.7

Die Technologie

Appliance bzw. virtuelles Server Image

BENS ist ein betriebssystem-unabhängiger Druckerserver in Form einer lüfterlosen Appliance mit SSD Speicher (keine beweglichen Teile). Alternativ wird BENS als ein virtuelles Server Image für VMWare, XEN oder Microsoft Hyper-V geliefert. Mit einer Appliance können bis zu 50 Drucker betrieben werden, abhängig von der Größe und Komplexität der zu druckenden Daten. Für virtuelle Umgebungen gilt diese Einschränkung nicht.

BENS verfügt über ein leistungsfähiges Spoolsystem mit vielen Funktionen, wie z.B. Nachdruck, Archivierung und Statusverfolgung.

Kommunikation und Filtering

Der Druckerserver unterstützt alle gängigen Druckprotokolle: Socket, SMB, LPR, IPP und gegen Aufpreis IPDS. Die Statusabfrage der Drucker erfolgt über SNMP. Die Anpassung an gewünschte Prozesse erfolgt mittels Filter und deren Konfigurationen. Filter sind Programme, die auf einen BENS Server hochgeladen werden können um dort entsprechend die ankommenden Druckdaten im Sinne des Anwenders zu modifizieren, bevor sie an das eigentliche Zielgerät weiter geleitet werden. Als Beispiel der Druckdatenfilterung kann man das Hinzufügen von Macros, Schriften oder Barcodes nennen, es sind jedoch auch komplexere Aufgaben, wie z.B. "Carbon Copy" oder Umwandlung der Druckdaten aus einer Druckersprache in eine andere (z.B. Prescribe zu PCL) möglich.

Ein entscheidendes Merkmal des BENS Spoolsystems ist seine Flexibilität: neue Filter können jederzeit mit Boardmitteln des Servers hochgeladen und angewandt werden, ohne dass es einer Systemanpassung bedürfte. Es können mehrere Filter pro Drucker definiert werden.

Verwaltung

Der BENS Server wird mit einem WEB-basierenden Verwaltungstool geliefert. Die intuitiv bedienbare Oberfläche dient dem Administrator zur Netzwerkkonfiguration, Definition der Drucker, Verwaltung von Lizenzen, Filtern usw. und Konfiguration von Druckprozessen.

Ausfallsicherheit

Zur Ausfallsicherheit wird optional zu jedem Gerät (dem "Master") ein zweites Gerät ("Slave") geliefert, der als Spiegelserver für den "Master" dient. Die Spiegelung erfolgt automatisch im Hintergrund ohne Betriebsunterbrechung. Beim Ausfall des "Masters" übernimmt der "Slave" automatisch die Lizenzrechte des "Masters" und wird somit selbst zum "Master". Nach erfolgter Reparatur wird der bisherige "Master" zum "Slave". Alle Lizenzen für Filter werden nur einmal berechnet.

1 BENS für viele Drucker

1 BENS für viele Drucker!

BENS: Diverse Anschlussmöglichkeiten

Druckweg 1: von der Anwendung über BENS direkt zum Drucker

Anwendung - BENS - Drucker

Druckweg 2: von der Anwendung über einen anderen Drucker Server an BENS und weiter zum Drucker

Anwendung - Drucker Server - BENS - Drucker

Druckweg 3: von der Anwendung über BENS zu einem anderen Drucker Server und weiter zum Drucker

Anwendung - BENS - Drucker Server - Drucker

Standardfilter

Barcode Filter

Der BENS Barcode Filter ist PCL kompatibel und kann z.B. von SAP® Anwendern sofort verwendet werden. Es müssen keine Änderungen auf dem SAP® System durchgeführt werden. BENS kann an Stelle von Hardware Modulen (z.B. Barcode DIMMs) verwendet werden, die in die Drucker eingebaut werden müssen. Beim Ausfall eines Druckers kann die Lizenz für den Barcode Filter problemlos vom Administrator auf einen anderen Drucker umdisponiert werden.

mehr über PCL Barcode Filter »

Unicode Filter

Der Unicode Filter ermöglicht das Drucken von Unicode Daten auf Druckern, die entweder nicht Unicode fähig sind oder keine entsprechende Schriftart besitzen. Der BENS Unicode Filter wird zusammen mit dem Monotype® Font Andale, der über 60.000 Unicode Zeichen beinhaltet, ausgeliefert. SAP® Anwender können diesen Filter nutzen, um z.B. fremdsprachige Dokumente (wie chinesisch, japanisch, thailändisch) auszugeben.

mehr über Unicode Filter »

Prescribe PCL Filter

Der Prescribe PCL Filter setzt Prescribe Druckdaten in PCL Druckdaten um. Der Filter ist sehr performant und konvertiert die Prescribe Druckdaten in PCL Druckdaten ohne Zeitverzögerung um, die für den Anwender spürbar wäre um. Die Barcode Umsetzung ist im Filter bereits integriert.

mehr über Prescribe PCL Filter »

Macro Filter

PCL Macros sind Druckbausteine, die beim Drucken wiederholt verwendet werden können. Sie können feste Teile eines Druckbilds, wie z.B. Logos oder Fußzeilen darstellen, aber auch komplette Seitenlayouts, wie z.B. Formulare, Briefvorlagen oder AGBs.

mehr über Macro Filter »

Carbon Copy Filter

Mit dem Carbon Copy Filter werden Durschläge realisiert, d.h. jede Seite eines Druckdokuments wird sofort mehrfach gedruckt. Die Anzahl der Kopien ist einstellbar. Sendet der Anwender z.B. ein Dokument mit 4 Seiten und 3 ist als Anzahl Kopien eingestellt, dann druckt der Drucker die Seiten wie folgt:
1,1,1,2,2,2,3,3,3,4,4,4
oder je nach Einstellung
1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4
Dieser Filter eignet sich insbesondere für Umgebungen, in denen Nadeldrucker durch Laserdrucker ersetzt werden sollen. Für einzelne Seiten bzw. Kopien können Papiersorten oder Einzugsschächte definiert werden. Auch Finishing Optionen, wie z.B. das Heften können angegeben werden.

mehr über Carbon Copy Filter »

OCR-A / OCR-B Filter

Dieser Filter erlaubt das Drucken von standardisierten, optisch lesbaren Schriften OCR-A und OCR-B.

mehr über OCR-Filter »

DataCompress Filter

Der BENS DataCompress Filter komprimiert Druckerdaten für kostengünstige Übertragung über WAN-Strecken, z.B. aus Europa nach China.

mehr über DataCompress Filter »

Font Filter

Dieser Filter nutzt BENS als gemeinsamen Druckerspeicher. Die Fonts für alle Drucker können gespeichert und genutzt werden.

mehr über Font Filter »

CleverPrint Filter

Mit dem BENS CleverPrint Filter wird sparsames und ökologisches Drucken durch forcieren von Duplex- Schwarz/Weiß und ECO-Druck gefördert, auch wenn der Anwender andere Einstellungen am Druckertreiber vorgenommen hat.

mehr über CleverPrint Filter »

SplitSpool Filter

Spooldateien werden in mehrere Druckjobs aufgeteilt, so dass diese einzeln weiter verarbeitet (z.B. geheftet oder kuvertiert) werden können.

mehr über SplitSpool Filter »

MergeJobs Filter

Mit dem BENS MergeJobs Filter werden mehrere Druckjobs zu einem Druckjob zusammengefügt. Das erleichtert das Handling von vielen kleinen Druckjobs und steigert deutlich die Performance des Druckers, der nicht mehr nach jedem Job resetten muss.

mehr über MergeJobs Filter »

PrintToBox Filter

Der BENS PrintToBox Filter unterstützt das Drucken in elektronische Druckerboxen aus Systemen, die dafür keine Auswahl bieten (z.B. SAP®).

mehr über PrintToBox Filter »

Mobiles Drucken

Ab OS Version 2.0.37 bietet BENS außer den typischen Druckprotokollen, wie Socket und LPR auch ein mit IOS® Geräten (iPad®, Iphone®) kompatibles Druckprotokoll an.

mehr über mobiles Drucken »

Follow me Funktion

Mit der BENS follow me Funktion werden die Druckjobs eines Anwenders so lange speichert, bis der Anwender sie an einem Drucker über einen Webbrowser mit Authentifizierung abruft und drucken lässt.

mehr über follow me Funktion »

IPDS/AFPDS Druck

BENS OS4 unterstützt optional den IPDS und AFPDS Druck. Auf jedem BENS Server befindet sich eine Demo-Version für schwarz/weiß Druck mit max. 55 Seiten/Minute.

mehr über IPDS/AFPDS Druck »

Weitere Funktionen

Suchy MIPS entwickelt laufend neue Filter, die von allgemeinem Interesse sind. Auf Wunsch entwickeln wir auch kundenspezifische Filter.
Beispiel eines kundenspezifischen Filters: Farbige Hervorhebungen werden in schwarz/weiß fett mit erhöhter Schriftgröße umgewandelt.

Fonts und Macros

Ressourcen Repository

PCL Fonts und Macros können mit vorhandenen Boardmitteln auf BENS in das Ressourcen Repository hochgeladen werden. Einmal hochgeladen, kann ein Macro auf beliebigen Druckern gedruckt werden. Bei dieser Vorgehensweise spart der Anwender Geld an Ausgaben für zusätzlichen, nichtflüchtigen Druckerspeicher für die Macros. Er spart auch an der Verwaltung, da bei Macroänderungen ein Macro nur an einer Stelle ausgetauscht werden muss.